when does the weight start to drop!

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

Welcome to our Australian Low Carb Forums. Join us for free support, information and recipes to help you with your low carb diet. We're a friendly bunch so please register and join in the fray, but most of all have fun! If you like us please share and spread the love!

• when does the weight start to drop!

Have been in ketosis for a least 4 days -have been on low carb for a week but weight still same. Am exercising each day and drinking plenty of water but I am post-menopausal so wonder if that's got anything to do with no weight loss yet. Only have a few kilos to lose.
    • Re: when does the weight start to drop!

Hi Trish, I'm no expert but I know that post breastfeeding (I still have full breasts 7 months after stopping feeding) I found the low carb diet takes much longer to kick in (in terms of weight loss) than previously. Rotten female hormones! I have only just started again and although it's not going to be as easy I am just going to stick at it. Are you doing some weight bearing exercise? I find even light weights help immensly.

My other thought is, that as I have lived low carb for 10 years pre-pregancy, that maybe the weight loss is not as radical as my system is used to it, not sure if that theory is proven widely though. Although I have alot more to lose than you, I reckon stick at it, good luck!

PS. forgot to say, my mum started lc when she was post-menopausal and was slower to notice weight loss but did really well in the long term.

The post was edited 1 time, last by dani ().